Drawing memories

thegoodthinking_drawing dreams

I say a little prayer for you, de Aretha Franklin suena fuerte en el radiocasete de la cocina. Se abren las luces y aparezco yo con 5 años, vistiendo un hermoso vestido de mi madre en plateado, que me queda como un vestido de gala pero sujetado con pinzas (literalmente).

Y allí está mi madre, mirando como hago mi entrada triunfal.

Me espera con el batidor en las manos. Mi momento ante mi mejor público ha llegado, como cada sábado, hoy soy Aretha.

Y al ritmo de forever and ever mi madre y yo nos dejábamos llevar por la letra y la música y bailábamos locamente, como si estuviéramos solas en el mundo.

Ese es uno de mis recuerdos dibujados. ¿Y el tuyo?

···

I say a little prayer for you, Aretha Franklin sounds loud on the radio cassette in the kitchen. I’m 5 y.o., the lights open and I appear wearing my mom’s beautiful silver dress, which fits me like a ball gown but secured with clothes pin.

And there is my mother, watching me do my triumphal entry.

She is waiting for me with a whisk in her hands. My time with my best public has come, as every Saturday, I’m Aretha today.

And by the rhythm of forever and ever my mother and we waved with the lyrics and the music and danced madly, just like we were alone in the world.

That’s one of my memories drawn. What about yours?

C.

Follow me on: Twitter, Facebook & Instagram

Deja un comentario